Osvaldo Golijov
Bio - PhotosCalendarWorksDiscographyNews - ReviewsContact
 Soloists, Chorus and OrchestraOperaFilm SoundtrackSolo InstrumentalArrangements
Chamber without VoiceChamber with VoiceOrchestraSoloist and OrchestraChorus

Rose of the Winds (2007)
   [Notes] · [Reviews]
CATEGORYSoloist & Orchestra
INSTRUMENTATIONSilk Road Ensemble and Orchestra

Silk Road Ensemble: SRE: Shakuhachi, Sheng, Ney, Galician Bagpipes; Pipa, 2 Percussionists; Kemancheh, String Quartet.

Orchestra: 4 Fl (2.3.4. Doubling Picc and Alto Fl.); 3 Oboes (3rd doubling EH); 3 Cl (2nd doubles BassCl; 3rd doubles CbassCl); 3 Bssns (3rd doubles Contra) 4 Hns; 3 Tpets (3rd doubles Tpet in D); 3 Tbnes (3rd doubles Basstbne and Cbass Tbne); Tuba. All Brass double on Shofar for last movt. Percussion (3 Players) Harp Strings

NOTES: Kemancheh, Bagpipes and Sheng are amplified.
WORLD PREMIEREChicago Symphony Hall; April 12, 2007
WORLD PREMIERE PERFORMERSYo-Yo Ma, cello; Silk Road Ensemble; Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Miguel Harth-Bedoya, conductor
COMMISSIONChicago Symphony Orchestra
SCORE AVAILABILITYScore available for sale. Parts available for rental.  [more info]