Rose of the Winds

Rose of the Winds (2007, arr. 2009)

Version for reduced orchestra

The Rose of the Winds, based on the symbol of the compass that points not just to the four corners of the earth, but in all directions, is intended to offer a snapshot of who we are as people rather than trace a specific journey. As Golijov says, "The Rose of the Winds provides contrast without explanation." Two of the four movements are based on Golijov's Ayre, which will be performed on the Chicago Symphony's MusicNOW series in June.

Chicago Symphony Hall
April 12, 2007
Premier Performance
by Yo-Yo Ma, cello; Silk Road Ensemble; Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Miguel Harth-Bedoya, conductor
by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

See Also:

Joe Fitzgerald